Today, 09th December 2020, the Steering Committee of the Project for development and implementation of the new National Single Window System (National Single Window - NSW) held a kick –off meeting via video conference. The meeting was chaired by Deputy Prime Minister for Economic Affairs, Mr. Fatmir Bitiqi, together with the Director General of the Customs Administration, Mr. Gjoko Tanasoski. Directors of all the institutions responsible for cross-border movement of goods, as well as representatives of the business sector also joined them in the steering committee.

Over the past three weeks, the customs officers detected several attempts for smuggling goods, seizing cigarettes, hookah tobacco, clothes, technical products, cosmetics and counterfeits.

The 20th meeting of the Subcommittee on Customs and Rules of Origin is under way, which as a structural unit of CEFTA (Central European Free Trade Agreement) seeks to ensure simplification and acceleration of customs procedures.

Over the past two weeks, the customs officers found nine illegal migrants and foiled several attempts for smuggling, seizing foreign cash, teeth and face care products, homemade brandy, scented hookah tobacco, cigarettes and car parts.

The activities of the Subcommittee on Customs and Rules of Origin within CEFTA, this year chaired by the Customs Administration of the Republic of North Macedonia included the organization of today's an official visit of senior representatives of the CEFTA Secretariat, EU Transport Community and Regional Cooperation Council to the border crossing point Tabanovce.