The Customs Administration, under the Macedonian Presidency of CEFTA is organizing the 19th meeting of the Subcommittee on Customs and Rules of Origin that will take place on Thursday, 14th May 14 2020.

The meeting, given the exceptional circumstances of restricted movement across borders, will be held via video conference, and is expected to be attended by senior CEFTA customs officials and ministries (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia and Kosovo). The Director of the CEFTA Secretariat, senior representatives of the European Commission, EFTA Secretariat, World Bank and IFC are also to attend the meeting.

Besides the traditional topics such as facilitating international trade and ensuring faster customs procedures, the delegates at the subcommittee will discuss new topics, including international recognition of the AEO with the EU and EFTA, expanding the cumulation of origin of goods to other partners in the PEM Convention (Mediterranean countries).

High on the agenda will be the activities of the CEFTA parties for the new Multi-annual Plan for the Regional Economic Area MAP REA 2.

The Republic of North Macedonia is the first country in CEFTA that in April 2020 started the procedure for international recognition of the Authorized Economic Operator authorisations (AEO). With this, the Macedonian companies will benefit from the entire CEFTA market.